Colleges & Universtities INSTITUTES

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE)


2015-06-16 12:00

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics or SWUFE is a prominent national university located in Chengdu, Sichuan province, China. It is one of the top 3 specialist finance and economic universities under direct administration of the Ministry of Education and has been selected as a Project 211 and 985 Innovative Platforms for Key Disciplines Project university by the Chinese government as part of the national endeavor to build world-class universities in the 21st century.In 2015 SWUFE became the first business school in Western China to be accredited by the European Quality Improvement System.


The University was originally founded in Shanghai as Guanghua University in 1925. On June 3, students broke away from St. John University after the May 30th Movement, a patriotic and anti-imperialist movement. With leadership of Zhang Shouyong, a prominent scholar in Qing Dynasty, Guanghua University was founded, and the name was inspired by a Chinese saying: this piece of land is forever bathing in the brilliance of sun and moon. It demonstrates Chinese people's determination to rejuvenate the nation. Following the outbreak of war with Japan, the university moved to the inland city of Chengdu in 1938 during World War II to ensure the safety of the students, staff and faculty. In 1946, the branch campus in Chengdu proclaimed independence and was renamed the private Chenghua University. In 1952, the university was transformed into the public Chenghua University, it merged with schools and departments of business and economics from 16 other universities and colleges and was renamed Sichuan Institute of Finance and Economics. In 1980, People's Bank of China, China's central bank, took over the administration of the University and renamed it the Southwestern University of Finance and Economics (SWUFE) in 1985. The university was listed in the 211 Project in 1995. PBC administered the university until the administration was transferred to the Ministry of Education in 2000. It was listed in the 985 Innovative Platforms for Key Disciplines Project in 2011.


The university has 20 schools with 32 undergraduate majors (including centers and divisions). SWUFE has approximately 16,000 registered full-time undergraduate students.SWUFE is one of the earliest universities to offer graduate programs following the education reform of the 1970s. There are around 7,000 graduate students (6.000 Master's degree candidates and 900 Doctoral degree candidates). The university employs approximately 160 professors, 270 associate professors, and 100 doctor supervisors. SWUFE was the first institution authorized to grant MBA and CPA credentials in southwestern China.


20 schools are included as follows

School of Finance

School of Insurance

School of Securities and Futures

School of Economics

School of Business Administration

School of Accounting

School of Public Finance and Taxation

School of Statistics

School of Economic Information and Engineering

School of Law

School of Foreign Language for Economics and Trade

School of International Business

School of Public Administration

School of Economic Mathematics

School of Humanities

School of Marxism

College of International Education

Western Business School

Study Abroad Institute

School of Continuing (On-line) Education


7 Institutes and Research Centers are included

Research Institute of Economics and Management

Institute of Financial Studies

Chinese Finance Research Institute

Social Work Development Research Center

Beijing Research Institute

Southwestern University of Finance and Economics

Research Department of Psychical Education



Library Collection

3.8 million volumes (including digital books)



More than 130,000



About 380 acres

Air-conditioned Accommodation

Well-established service facilities


2015-06-16 04:34
Sichuan University (SCU)